Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

My journey as a writer, comic influences

March update!

My list of influences and why I think the 90s were better:

Films/books I mention in the video:

  1. Narnia by C.S. Lewis

  2. Roald Dahl’s books (my favorites were Matilda, BFG, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Danny, the Champion of the World)

  3. Magnolia (1999) dir. Paul Thomas Anderson

  4. The book of Psalms

  5. 20th Century Boys by Naoki Urasawa

  6. Children of the Sea by Daisuke Igarashi

  7. Middlemarch by George Eliot

  8. Bridgerton S2 (????) < not really an influence, just mentioned in passing in comparison to Middlemarch

  9. Gilmore Girls

  10. Malcolm in the Middle S1

  11. Himawari House by Harmony Becker

Upon rewatching my video, I realized that I didn’t talk about Children of the Sea that much—oops! But the setting, pacing and atmosphere of that manga was very influential for beloved. I especially love how much care Igarashi puts into drawing the flora and fauna in the manga.

Read CotS for good fish drawings if nothing else

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to erica eng to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

erica eng
erica eng
Authors
Erica Eng