Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of erica eng

Finishing chapter 1 of beloved + Fried Rice cover reveal

(very late) April update!

Creating hype for a comic book release (with no prior experience)

Cover preview! You can watch the process video on my TikTok (@paprikapeprica)

For the past month I’ve been brainstorming ideas for Fried Rice and what I might do to add ✨hype✨. In my opinion, hype isn’t so much about creating excitement over a project’s release date (because I don’t usually wait on my tippy toes for anything to get released, I enjoy content at my own pace), but it’s more about making it memorable and appealing to the audience.

I think I’ll DIY some keychains with vinyl stickers, shrink plastic and resin. That way, I’d have more control over the final product. It’s more labor-intensive but I don’t intend on making a ton of them, just small batches for in-person meets with readers. I truly believe making keychains is an art form. Case in point: The Forest Mori; my favorite keychain-maker. I believe she sculpts and paints her famous Tama keychains with resin and acrylic paint.

I’m going for a slightly less-advanced version. Here’s the tutorial I'm referring to.

I’m also working on a book trailer (preview at the 17 min mark). It’ll be traditionally-animated on paper, partly to justify my giant printer/scanner haha. I bought the printer/scanner specifically for the size (A3) and ADF function to use for an animated project back in 2021, but, since then, I haven’t animated anything on paper.

Here’s the client project I did (it’s about a pastor recalling her experience of going to church for the first time as a child).

That’s my plan for now (besides working on another Fried Rice back matter edit).

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to erica eng to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

erica eng
erica eng
Authors
Erica Eng